Even better than NetBeans, HProf comes with the JVM in 1.5 and 1.6…


Bingo! NetBeans’ profiler is very nice, thank you, and WAY easier to get started with than Eclipse, but its a GUI and you run it interactivly- good for some things, not for automated performance testing, which is what I’m trying to set up. Well, turns out HProf (Heap Profile) is a tool built into the Java Virtual Machine and available as a launch-time option whenever you run a Java program. The example on Sun’s web page profiles “javac”- pretty confident there. So I tried it on Mac OS-X and Win XP and it works just fine on both. You get percentages, not absolute times, but it gives you the total time and you can multiply out the absolute time if that’s what you really want. I must say I’m enjoying this again. Trying to get JMeter and TPTP running under Mac OS wasn’t any actual fun, since they didn’t work. In fact, having put TPTP into Ecipse, I can’t use Eclipse anymore… that’s a useful definition of software that’s not quite ready for prime time- it installs successfully, then tells you it doesn’t support your platform when you try to run with it, and it prevents your IDE from working until you figure out how to remove it. Joke’s on me, eh?

One response to “Even better than NetBeans, HProf comes with the JVM in 1.5 and 1.6…

  1. Well then, I got a chance to try JProfiler today and it worked really well as a GUI. That is to say, after I reloaded Snow Leopard on my Mac at work and started a new project, just abandoning my previous project which I had tried to use TPTP on…
    Turns out Java runtime and JVM have precisely one profiler socket or whatever you want to call it, and having succeeded in installing JProfiler on a new project, it then supersceded the TPTP profiler on my previous project too. And the old project works again!

    JProfiler documents say it has a command line interface but I haven’t had a chance to try it. If it does, its a contender, along with HProf.

    NetBeans is great as a GUI but I couldn’t find a way to script it, and I haven’t yet found a way to make JProbe work. Getting plugins to work in Eclipse is easier with experience, not as obvious as it might be. Like taking apart VW Axles and CV Joints means learning how to just mess with stuff, apparently Eclipse is the same way… you just have to *mess* with it…

Leave a Reply

