Anyone have expereince running NetBeans’ Profiler from command line?


Just found the following about running the NetBeans Profiler with Eclipse…  not command line but headed that way, maybe…

http://www.jroller.com/ortegon/entry/on_profiling_eclipse_rcp_applications

I left the following comment for Mario and I wouldn’t mind answere from anyone who reads this plea anywhere!
I’m trying to find a platform neutral profiling tool for Java- I need to support *nux, Windows and Mac OSX (yeah, BSD, but…) and I need to run from a command line so I can automate it. The Java library I’m testing is a thin client that talks TCP/IP to a server, all I care about is the client library performance, but I care on all three major platforms.

I tried to get JMeter going and realized it wasn’t aimed at what I was doing. I installed TPTP and was really hoping it would do the job but then discovered it has NO agent for Mac OSX and hasn’t for years. Phoey!  So I got NetBeans, imported my code (trivial, why can’t Eclipse be this easy?) and happily profiled on my Mac. Good so far.

Does anyone have experience running the NetBeans Profiler from Solaris, Linux, Mac OSX and/or Windows command lines?

Other all-platform Java profilers?

Many thanks for any help!!!

Bill

Leave a Reply

